bharat ratna award in english, bharat ratna list, bharat ratna award list, bharat ratna winners, list of bharat ratna award winners

List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners 2022 with important facts

In this Article we are going to read some Important facts about Bharat Ratna Award And Bharat Ratna Award winners list 2022.

Facts About Bharat Ratna Award -:

~ Bharat Ratna Award is the highest civilian award of the India.

~ Bharat Ratna award was established by former President of India Rajendra Prasad on 2nd January 1954.

~ The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna award are made by the Prime Minister of India to the President of India.

~ It is given for exceptional service to the nation towards the advancement of Science, Literature and Art, Sports and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order. In December 2011, the Government of India modified the criteria to allow sportsperson to receive the award. since then, the Bharat Ratna award can be given for the performance of highest order in any field of human endeavor.

~ Maximum three persons can be awarded in a specific year.

~ It is not mandatory that Bharat Ratna has to be awarded every year.

~ Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex is eligible for the award.

~ Bharat ratna award winner receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal leaf-shaped medallion.

~ The Bharat Ratna award medals are produced at Alipore Mint, Kolkata.

~ Bharat ratna award medal changes with the time. Earlier the medal was made of gold circle 35 mm in diameter with a centered sunburst design on the obverse side. The text Bharat Ratna in Devanagari Script, is inscribed on the upper edge in silver gilt with a wreath set along on the lower edge. A platinum State Emblem of India was placed in the centre of the reverse side with the national motto Satyameva Jayate ( Truth alone triumphs ) in Devanagari Script, inscribed in silver-gilt on the lower edge.

~ A year later In 1955, the medal was modified. Now The current medal is in the shape of a peepal leaf, approximately 59 mm long, 48 mm wide and 3.2 mm thick and rimmed in platinum. The embossed sunburst design, made of platinum. The words Bharat Ratna on the obverse side remained the same as the 1954 design as did the emblem of India and Satyameva Jayate on the reverse side. In 1957, the silver-gilt decoration was changed to burnished bronze. The medallion is worn around the neck using a white ribbon.

~ Bharat Ratna Award Winners do not recieve any prize money.

~ The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna award were Sarvepalli Radhakrishna, C. Rajagopalachari & C. V. Raman. They were awarded the Bharat Ratna in 1954.

~ The first female recipient of Bharat Ratna was Indira Gandhi.

~ Sachin Tendulkar is the youngest person to recieve Bharat Ratna Award at the age of 40 years.

~ Former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri was the first person to have received the Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1966.

~ In 1992, Subhash Chandra Bose was awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously. As there is no solid evidence of Subhash Chandra Bose’s death so his family declined to receive the award.

~ There is no formal provision that Bharat Ratna winners should be Indian citizens only. Bharat Ratna has been awarded to a naturalized Indian citizen, Mother Teresa (1980) and to two non-Indians, Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1987) and Nelson Mandela (1990).

~ The Bharat Ratna winners come 7th in the Indian order of precedence behind the President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, State Governors, former Presidents and the Deputy Prime Minister, Lok Sabha Speaker and Chief Justice of India.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners list 2022 -:

S. No.List of Bharat Ratna Award WinnersYear
1.C. Rajagopalachari1954
2.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan1954
3.C. V. Raman1954
4.Bhagwan Das1955
5.M. Visvesvaraya1955
6.Jawaharlal Nehru1955
7.Govind Ballabh Pant1957
8.Dhondo Keshav Karve1958
9.Bidhan Chandra Roy1961
10.Purushottam Das Tandon1961
11.Rajendra Prasad1962
12.Zakir Husain1963
13.Pandurang Vaman Kane1963
14.Lal Bahadur Shastri ( Posthumously )1966
15.Indira Gandhi1971
16.V. V. Giri1975
17.K. Kamaraj ( Posthumously )1976
18.Mother Teresa1980
19.Vinoba Bhave ( Posthumously )1983
20.Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan1987
21.M. G. Ramachandran ( Posthumously )1988
22.B. R. Ambedkar ( Posthumously )1990
23.Nelson Mandela1990
24.Rajiv Gandhi ( Posthumously )1991
25.Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel ( Posthumously )1991
26.Morarji Desai1991
27.Abul Kalam Azad ( Posthumously )1992
28.J. R. D. Tata1992
29.Satyajit Ray1992
30.Gulzarilal Nanda ( Posthumously )1997
31.Aruna Asaf Ali ( Posthumously )1997
32.A. P. J. Abdul Kalam1997
33.M. S. Subbulakshmi1998
34.Chidambaram Subramaniam1998
35.Jayaprakash Narayan ( Posthumously )1998
36.Amartya Sen1999
37.Gopinath Bordoloi ( Posthumously )1999
38.Ravi Shankar1999
39.Lata Mangeshkar2001
40.Bismillah Khan2001
41.Bhimsen Joshi2009
42.C. N. R. Rao2014
43.Sachin Tendulkar2014
44.Madan Mohan Malaviya2015
45.Atal Bihari Vajpayee2015
46.Pranab Mukherjee2019
47.Nanaji Deshmukh ( Posthumously )2019
48.Bhupen Hazarika ( Posthumously )2019

Thank you for reading about bharat ratna purushkar, bharat ratna list 2022, bharat ratna award list 2022, bharat ratna winners 2022, list of bharat ratna award winners 2022.

Please do comment and share the knowledge.


Please do follow -: Facebook Page

Leave a Reply