list of finance minister of india, Finance Minister Of India List, Who is Finance Minister of India, Who was the first Finance Minister of India

List Of Finance Minister Of India From 1947 To 2023

Let’s Read about List Of Finance Minister Of India From 1947 To 2023, Finance Minister Of India List 2023, Who is Finance Minister of India 2023 ?, Who was the first Finance Minister of India ?, Who was the first woman Finance Minister of India ?

Ministry of Finance is an important ministry of the Government of India. The Finance Minister is the head of the Finance Ministry of the Government of India. The Ministry of Finance deals with all matters relating to taxation, financial laws, financial institutions, capital markets, central and state finances and the Union budget. The Ministry of Finance of India is made up of various departments which include: Department of Economic Affairs, Department of Expenditure, Department of Revenue, Department of Financial Services and Department of Disinvestment etc.

The current Finance Minister of India is Nirmala Sitharaman. The first finance minister of independent India, R. K. Shanmukham Chetty, who presented the country’s first budget.

List Of Finance Minister Of India From 1947 To 2023 -:

1.R.K. Shanmukham Chetty15 August 1947 – 17 August 1948Indian National Congress
2.Dr. John Mathai22 September 1948 – 1 June 1950Indian National Congress
3.Dr. C.D. Deshmukh1 June 1950 – 24 July 1956Indian National Congress
4.T.T. Krishnamachari30 August 1956 – 14 February 1958Indian National Congress
5.Jawaharlal Nehru14 February 1958 – 22 March 1958Indian National Congress
6.Morarji Desai23 March 1958 – 31 August 1963Indian National Congress
7.T. T. Krishnamachari31 August 1963 – 31 December 1965Indian National Congress
8.Sachindra Chaudhuri1 January 1966 – 12 March 1967Indian National Congress
9.Morarji Desai13 March 1967 – 16 July 1969Indian National Congress
10.Indira Gandhi16 July 1969 – 27 June 1970Indian National Congress
11.Yashwantrao Chavan27 June 1970 – 10 October 1974Indian National Congress
12.Chidambaram Subramaniam10 October 1974 – 24 March 1977Indian National Congress
13.Hirubhai M. Patel26 March 1977 – 24 January 1979Janata Party
14.Chaudhary Charan Singh24 January 1979 – 16 July 1979Janata Party
15.Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna28 July 1979 – 19 October 1979Janata Party (Secular)
16.R. Venkataraman14 January 1980 – 15 January 1982Indian National Congress
17.Pranab Mukherjee15 January 1982 – 31 December 1984Indian National Congress
18.V. P. Singh31 December 1984 – 24 January 1987Indian National Congress
19.Rajiv Gandhi24 January 1987 – 25 July 1987Indian National Congress
20.N. D. Tiwari25 July 1987 – 25 June 1988Indian National Congress
21.Shankarrao Chavan25 June 1988 – 2 December 1989Indian National Congress
22.Madhu Dandavate6 December 1989 – 10 November 1990Janata Dal (National Front)
23.Yashwant Sinha21 November 1990 – 21 June 1991Samajwadi Janata Party (National Front)
24.Dr. Manmohan Singh21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996Indian National Congress
25.Jaswant Singh16 May 1996 – 1 June 1996Bharatiya Janata Party
26.P. Chidambaram1 June 1996 – 21 April 1997Tamil Maanila Congress (United Front)
27.I.K. Gujral21 April 1997 – 1 May 1997Janata Dal (United Front)
28.P. Chidambaram1 May 1997 – 19 March 1998Tamil Maanila Congress (United Front)
29.Yashwant Sinha19 March 1998 – 1 July 2002Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)
30.Jaswant Singh1 July 2002 – 22 May 2004Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)
31.P. Chidambaram22 May 2004 – 30 November 2008Indian National Congress (UPA)
32.Dr. Manmohan Singh30 November 2008 – 24 January 2009Indian National Congress (UPA)
33.Pranab Mukherjee24 January 2009 – 26 June 2012Indian National Congress (UPA)
34.Dr. Manmohan Singh26 June 2012 – 31 July 2012Indian National Congress (UPA)
35.P. Chidambaram31 July 2012 – 26 May 2014Indian National Congress (UPA)
36.Arun Jaitley26 May 2014 – 30 May 2019Bharatiya Janata Party (NDA)
37.Nirmala Sitharaman31 May 2019 – IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party (NDA)
Finance Minister Of India List 2023

Who is Finance Minister of India 2023 ?

Nirmala Sitharaman

Who was the first Finance Minister of India ?

R.K. Shanmukham Chetty

Who was the first woman Finance Minister of India ?

Indira Gandhi